Ssenyange, Indresh triumph - The New Indian Express

Ssenyange, Indresh triumph

Published: 03rd December 2012 10:10 AM

Last Updated: 03rd December 2012 10:10 AM

Ismail Ssenyange from Uganda, who got off to a strong start, won the inaugural edition of the Wipro Chennai Marathon (TWCM), powered by Chennai Runners with a timing of 2:36.22 seconds. The full marathon length was a 42.2 kms stretch spanning the roads that link the IIT to Napier Bridge. About 6300 runners from across the globe took part in the event.

In the women’s category, Indresh Dhiraj emerged victorious clocking 3:29.39 sec. The men’s half marathon (21.1 kilometers) was won by R Rajesh and Michelle Sharma bagged the women’s category. Nanjundappa Nanjunda and Andrea Genuini won the men and women 10km run respectively. “I am happy to win the Chennai Marathon with just two months of practice. The last time I participated in a full marathon was way back in 2008 in Uganda” said an elated Ismail Ssenyange, who works as a security guard in Dubai.

“I am glad that I came here to participate in this well organised race and I thank my sponsors Dubai Creek Striders for giving me this opportunity. I am looking forward to the Wipro San Francisco Marathon in June 2013” added Ismail.

Over `1.6 lakh was given away in prize money in two categories. The top three finishers of the full marathon won `25,000, 15,000 and 10,000 respectively.

The half-marathon top three performers got  `20,000, 15,000 and 10,000.

Wipro Technologies will sponsor the winner of the full marathon in both the male and female category for ‘The Wipro San Francisco Marathon’ on June 16, 2013 at San Francisco.


Full Marathon (Men):  1. Ismail Ssenyange (2:36.22 seconds); 2. S Vairavanathan (2:42.18); 3. Lourdes Bosco (3:13.46).

Women: 1. Indresh Dhiraj (3:29.39); 2. Ridhima Suri (4:06.33); 3. Lakshmi Krishnamurthy (5:08.40).

Half-Marathon (Men): 1. R Rajesh (1:08.31); 2. M Jegadheesan (1:18.00); 3. Ashok Nath (1:21.51).

Women: 1. Michelle Sharma (1:51.08); 2. Pavlina Harustakova (1:54.36); 3. Keerthana Swaminathan (1:58.20).

10K Run (Men): 1. Nanjundappa Nanjunda (34:56); 2. Sharadkumar (40:38); 3. S V Vharanedhar 


Women: 1. Andrea Genuini (39:58); 2. Manisha Shah (49:50); 3. Siddhi Varun Japee (58:22).

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt