1.2 Percent of Electorate Opt for NOTA - The New Indian Express

1.2 Percent of Electorate Opt for NOTA

Published: 18th May 2014 12:43 PM

Last Updated: 18th May 2014 01:21 PM

BHUBANESWAR: The election results of 21 Lok Sabha constituencies across the State threw up a surprise result on the ‘None Of The Above’ (NOTA) front. The new option, included this election, accounted for a bigger share than many regional and national parties in Odisha.

 Nearly 1.2 per cent of the total voters across the State opted for NOTA, an opportunity that many electorate took to register their rejection.

 Nabarangpur registered the maximum 44,408 NOTA votes which is a crucial three pc of the vote share of the constituency. It ranks fourth in the tally here, leaving behind national and regional parties like Bahujan Samaj Party, Ama Odisha and Odisha Jana Morcha.

 Similarly, in Koraput parliamentary seat 33,232 NOTA votes were cast placing the option fifth among ten contestants. Two left-leaning parties and Samata Kranti Dal had to settle with an unsubstantial vote share trailing behind NOTA.

 Large number of voters in tribal-dominated constituencies of Keonjhar (26,065), Mayurbhanj (23,517), Kalahandi (20,880)and Kandhamal (14,159) have explicitly expressed their dissent with all the contesting candidates.Berhampur saw a similar trend with 12,706 votes going in favour of NOTA.

This is striking considering that senior leader of Aam Aadmi Party, Dhanada Kanta Mishra, was a contestant from this constituency. Mishra received 8,248 votes occupying the sixth position. In neighbouring Aska 15,382 votes were polled for NOTA.

 Western Odisha, where many heavyweights were in the fray, has also witnessed a noteworthy share of NOTA votes. Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Balangir and Bargarh registered 13,314, 15,835, 21,043 and 14,500 NOTA votes respectively.

 Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat recorded 8,140 NOTA votes and Cuttack Lok Sabha seat registered 8,889 NOTA.

 Meanwhile, NOTA has accounted for 2,71,336 votes in the results table of the 147-seat Assembly polls which is 1.3 percent of the vote share.

comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Read More

follow us Mobile Site iPad News Hunt Android RSS Tumblr Linekin Pinterest Youtube Google Plus Twitter Facebook